‹ Zurück zur Übersicht
Right Livelihood Award

© Right Livelihood Award

“Right Livelihood Award” celebrates its 40th anniversary

2019 Right Livelihood Award to be Presented in Stockholm 4 December

The Laureates of this year’s Right Livelihood Award, widely known as the ‘Alternative Nobel Prize’, will be celebrated during a 10-day long programme in Germany, Switzerland and Sweden from 25 November – 4 December. The Award Presentation in Stockholm also marks the 40th Anniversary of the Right Livelihood Award, established in 1980.

The 2019 Laureates are:

  • Human rights defender Aminatou Haidar (Western Sahara):
    “for her steadfast nonviolent action, despite imprisonment and torture, in pursuit of justice and self-determination for the people of Western Sahara”.
  • Lawyer Guo Jianmei (China):
    “for her pioneering and persistent work in securing women’s rights in China”.
  • Climate activist Greta Thunberg (Sweden):
    “for inspiring and amplifying political demands for urgent climate action reflecting scientific facts”.
  • Indigenous leader Davi Kopenawa and the Hutukara Yanomami Association (Brazil):
    “for their courageous determination to protect the forests and biodiversity of the Amazon, and the lands and culture of its indigenous peoples”.

The 40th Right Livelihood Award Presentation will take place on 4 December, 19.30-21.15 (CET) at Cirkus in Stockholm and is open to the public. Everyone is invited to join an inspiring evening together with 2019 Laureates and world-renowned artists such as José González. Also, on stage, journalist Amy Goodman (2008 Laureate) will moderate a conversation with whistleblower Edward Snowden (2014 Laureate) who is joining via link from Moscow.

The Award Presentation will be livestreamed on rightlivelihood.org

2019 Laureate Greta Thunberg is currently crossing the Atlantic Ocean to participate in the 2019 United Nations Climate Change Conference, COP25, in Spain. Thunberg will not attend the Award Presentation in Stockholm and will instead be represented on stage by activists from Fridays For Future Sweden.

Thunberg has stated: “I’m deeply grateful for being one of the recipients of this great honour. But of course, whenever I receive an award, it is not me who is the winner. The Right Livelihood Award is a huge recognition for Fridays For Future and the climate strike movement. Thank you so very much!”

Thunberg’s fellow Laureate Guo Jianmei will also not be able to attend the Award Presentation in person. Guo Jianmei has stated: “The Right Livelihood Award recognises and acknowledges the efforts of my team and me to uphold women’s rights and the rule of law in China. This award serves as an encouragement and motivation.”

Ole von Uexkull, Executive Director of the Right Livelihood Foundation said: “We promise our Laureates long-term support and the Award Presentation in Stockholm is the celebratory starting point for our cooperation. Our support work will be tailored to the Laureates’ specific needs and we are looking forward to amplifying their pioneering work.”

40 years have passed since the Nobel Foundation rejected an environmental prize, and the Swedish-German philanthropist Jakob von Uexkull decided to establish The Right Livelihood Award. The prize is widely known as the ‘Alternative Nobel Prize’ and is today one of the most prestigious awards in sustainability, social justice and peace.



Right Livelihood Award 2019

Diese Meldung teilen

‹ Zurück zur Übersicht

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren